Castaways

Photo By Jonathan Ryeland

One family’s adventure from Muskoka to Georgian Bay and back again

By Sarah Ryeland

For families that have lived or played in Muskoka for many years, the simple pleasures of the region are exactly what make it so appealing. Unwinding and enjoying nature are what you need to escape the daily grind. And while your tried and true activities are fun, sometimes a little adventure helps you enjoy beautiful Muskoka that much more.

For me, living in Muskoka is an adventure unto itself. Born and raised in the GTA, I did spend quite a bit of time up in the Parry Sound-Muskoka region with my family. I’d like to think I’m a pretty adventurous girl – I have, after all, travelled the world and used my lifelong Muskoka experiences to do things like live in a tent for three months in the various landscapes of New Zealand.

But there are still some things I haven’t tried. And now that I’m living in Muskoka, I figured I might as well have an experience that takes my city-girl status down a notch…

Read more

One response to “Castaways

  1. I’m 89 on Jul 21 and my wife is 88 on Oct 25. We recently celebrated our 65th marital year. Feb 15th 1946 We live in a condo in Barrie at the waterfront. Can’t drive any more since I was 84.My wife Mae has never, ever driven a car..

    We sure miss driving up to Bala and places nearby. When I was a kid we used to go to High Falls every summer and pitch a tent. That’s before High Falls supplied Electricity. Bob Sutton of Bala was a great friend of ours for many years.

    In 78-79 I was District Governor of District A-12 International Lions Clubs and many of our clubs are in Muskoka. I visited ever one several times.

    Our nephew Ed Boutilier has a beautiful cottage near Port Carling. We used to drive up there. I spent many a week-end helping to build the deaf camp near Parry Sound and also the Diabetes camp near Dorset..

    I have a Web Page about Muskoka and Central Ontario. If I have anything in there that you think I shouldn’t or perhaps something that you would like me to add, please email me.

    Harold Keiser.
    hkeiser@rogers.com

    http://www.mylions.ca/barriemidlandemsdale.html

    .

Leave a Reply

